How can I reinstate my suspended license in California after a DUI charge?
A simple way to reinstate your suspended license is to purchase liability coverage utilizing the state of California’s minimum requirement in filing SR-22 car insurance form in California Department of Motor Vehicle. The policy is in two types:
An owner policy is an insurance the gives liability coverage for the driver’s personal car or vehicle. This can also be issued under collision and comprehensive coverage. Other additional coverage that may be added to premiums are uninsured motorist, underinsured, medical bills, towing or other rental car bills etc.
The non-owner policy on the other hand, is also called as operator policy. It is an insurance policy that gives mandatory liability coverage on any cars that the policy holder drives but does not own it. For instance, it can be a friend’s car or a company car used for work related. This policy can be issued exclusive of the existing insurance. Your current insurance company doesn’t have to be informed of the requirement for the SR-22 coverage if in case you have other vehicles in the household with an existing insurance. Your policy may be cancelled or your premiums might increase if your insurance company discovers multiple and extreme traffic violations.
Another form to show financial responsibility would be to buy a bond in the amount specified by the state of California. The amounts ranges usually from $30,000 and $50,000. An authorized car insurance company may issue the bonds.
DMV will determines the length of time you will need to carry the SR-22 depending on the gravity of the violation. Generally its between 3-5 years. But in some cases if you carry the insurance for 3 years without any traffic violations, the SR-22 may be then terminated. Fees for reinstatement and penalties will be assessed at the higher cost to the owner.